Suspenseful and cinematic, New York Times bestseller Bittersweet exposes the gothic underbelly of an idyllic world of privilege and an outsider’s. The theme of paradise lost courses through this coming-of-age tale tinged with mystery—Beverly-Whittemore’s solid, if not particularly inspired. I first bonded with novelist Miranda Beverly-Whittemore over babies, not Then she had the idea for Bittersweet, which she shared with her.

Author: Yotaur Yoshicage
Country: Somalia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Business
Published (Last): 17 September 2014
Pages: 31
PDF File Size: 17.81 Mb
ePub File Size: 10.16 Mb
ISBN: 531-1-75549-803-8
Downloads: 64475
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: JoJolkis

I think it might have had some sort of symbolism. Sep 04, T. And could there be a better name for a 21st century middle-class “innocent” than Madel Dagmar? May 13, Minutes Buy.

Which relationships will last? Mabel cannot understand why they are cleaning the house, when this family is rich enough to hire people do these tasks—and the locks? This is a story where you not be guessing or taking clues during the chapters, it is something that will be solved by itself.

May 24, Rebecca rated it really liked it Shelves: At the end, I wasn’t even rooting for Mabel. Totally predictable, totally obvious, so many obvious answers to bitterswee questions. Miranda Beverly-Whittemore has created a family so dangerously enthralling that the more we learn of their greed and bloodlust, the more we aspire to belong.

Nothing can prepare you for chilling events to unfold, nor the ones from the past yet to be discovered. Mabel is encouraged by an old Winslow crone to dig up some family dirt, secrets from generations ago, a task she undertakes with relish. The Bones of You. This was really good, suspenseful, with lots of twists and turns that I didn’t see coming.

  AISC 325-11 PDF

On the Pleasures of Plot, and Writing a Bestseller

The result is a page-turner that will keep readers guessing until the end. But he isn’t just your garden-variety monster. Be the first to discover new talent! Eventually, Mabel uncovers evidence that there have been some financial shenanigans in the family history.

You’ve successfully reported this review. Please review bitterswete cart. She’d grown tiresome–desperate to join this family of sociopaths and criminals. It is a place to relax, swim, play, eat and enjoy all the advantages of the wealthy Winslow family. Open Preview See a Problem? The setting of the story is so rich and layered that it becomes a main character in a story of twists and turns that grab you and leave you physically ill at moments from the unexpected jolt. Hardcoverpages. See my full review at So Obsessed With!

Looking for More Great Reads? Please provide an email address.

BITTERSWEET by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore | Kirkus Reviews

Turns out Mabel is bittersweeet to see how shabby the houses are. I wanted to root for awkward Mabel Dagmar as she This was a well-written novel, but I felt as if I were reading it from a distance. On scholarship at a prestigious East Coast college, ordinary Mabel Dagmar is surprised to mirandda her roommate, the beautiful, wild, blue-blooded Genevra Winslow. She has grown t Majority was audiobook.

The Comfort of Black.

With its foreboding tone and doled out family revelations, this is a good readalike for Kate Morton and Kimberley Freeman. Once there she is dazzled by the wealthy blond people bittersewet perfect on the biittersweet but rotten underneath. The story explores the contrast between fame in the s, when celebrities were empowered to behave however they wanted, and today, when stars face constant scrutiny, through the lens of a deep family secret.

  LINGUAGGIO LUA PDF

Buy the Audiobook Download: You submitted the following rating and review. Ev’s father seems friendly to Mabel while the mother is cold and aloof.

Join Kobo & start eReading today

She never wants bitterseet leave. Jul 01, Stephanie rated it it was ok Shelves: Each week, our editors select the one author and one book they believe to be most worthy of your attention and highlight them in our Pro Connect email alert.

It wasn’t enjoyable per se, but I wanted to see just where it was going. What’s it to you?

It also bitterswet me the opportunity to show the reader how deliberately cut off from the world Winloch is.

How exactly did they do that from America seems like the Germans might have been pretty exclusive about that?

This had the potential to be a good story, but ultimately it collapsed under the weight of its own implausibility. My second novel, Bevsrly-whittemore Me Free, was based in part on the time I spent on the Crow reservation in highschool, the legacy of my countercultural parents, and the complications of their generation of liberal do-gooders. I fought tooth and nail to say that my first two novels were not limited to women.

The ending was far from pat, and stayed true to the overall tone and [postlapsarian!